Return to the Centre of the Earth CD


Roger Dean artwork in Digipak packaging.

Return to the Centre of the Earth is a studio album by the English keyboardist Rick Wakeman, released on 15 March 1999 on EMI Classics. The album is a sequel to his 1974 concept album Journey to the Centre of the Earth, itself based on the same-titled science fiction novel by Jules Verne. Wakeman wrote a new story of three unnamed travellers who attempt to follow the original journey two hundred years later, including the music which features guest performances from Ozzy Osbourne, Bonnie Tyler, Tony Mitchell, Trevor Rabin, Justin Hayward, and Katrina Leskanich. The story is narrated by Patrick Stewart. The recording was delayed after Wakeman was hospitalised with a life-threatening case of double pneumonia and pleurisy, and needed time to recover.

Upon release, the album reached number 34 on the UK Albums Chart.

  1. A Vision
  2. The Return Overture
  3. Mother Earth: The Shadow of June
  4. Mother Earth: The Gallery
  5. Mother Earth: The Avenue of Prismed Light
  6. Mother Earth: The Earthquake
  7. Buried Alive (Vocals Ozzy Osbourne)
  8. The Enigma
  9. Is Anybody There? (Vocals Bonnie Tyler)
  10. The Ravine
  11. The Dance of a Thousand Lights
  12. The Shepherd
  13. Mr Slow
  14. Bridge of Time
  15. Never Is a Long, Long Time (Vocals Trevor Rabin)
  16. Tales from the Lidenbrook Sea: River of Hope
  17. Tales from the Lidenbrook Sea: Hunter and Hunter
  18. Tales from the Lidenbrook Sea: Fight for Life
  19. The Kill
  20. Timeless History
  21. Still Water Runs Deep
  22. Time Within Time: The Ebbing Tide
  23. Time Within Time: The Electric Storm
  24. Ride of Your Life (Vocals Katrina Leskanich)
  25. Floating: Globes of Fire
  26. Floating: Cascades of Fear
  27. Floodflames
  28. The Volcano: Tongues of Fire
  29. The Volcano: The Blue Mountains
  30. The End of the Return