Prayers CD


Prayers is a Christian liturgical album released for the first time in 1993 and more of the rare of the Wakeman albums. A contemplative piece of work and as much a meditation as a musical piece. A lot of energy can be felt throughout this album and lead vocalist Chrissie Hammond has a strong presence, supported by Rick's synthesizer and backing choir singers. Wakeman had previously written a religious album, The Gospels, and this is generally considered his follow-up. It appeared on Hope Records, a small label that also cut production. According to his own words, only 5000 copies would be pressed, but Rick feels that there were probably more. Recordings took place in the private studio Bajonor Studio on the Isle of Man during the months of February to July 1992.

Track Listing.

  1. A Wish
  2. Hymn of Hope
  3. A Prayer for Creation
  4. A Cry Without Tears
  5. A Prayer for All
  6. The Answer
  7. The Empty Vessel
  8. Silent Prayer
  9. Devotion
  10. The Lord's Prayer
  11. Prayers of the Prophets
  12. Stay With Me
  13. The Only God
  14. I Can Hear You
  15. Evening Prayer
  16. A Final Wish