Originally built in 1897 as a Union Hall which was designed by architect Arthur H.L. MacKinnon. It was sometimes used for occasional film shows. It became a full time cinema, opening as the Picturedrome in 1910. Seating was provided in stalls and circle.
In 1924 its interior was given an early style of Art Deco modernisation. It was re-named Cinema and it kept this name at least into the late-1950’s. By 1963 was re-named Cinema House. It was always an independently operated cinema and closed in 1971. Converted into a bingo club then a bar and nightclub known as the Forum until 2016.
The venue was re-named The Assembly in 2016.
Today, The Assembly is a unique art deco style event venue based in the heart of Aberdeen. The downstairs of the venue is complete with a large open hall space, deco style bar and stage area. The balcony overlooks the main hall and is complete with its own ample bar area. With a capacity of up to 630, The Assembly provides flexible space for a variety of events, from gigs to comedy shows to exhibitions and indoor festivals.