4 Album Bundle + Free Glare EP - North Atlantic Oscillation

4 Album Bundle + Free Glare EP

NAO - Grappling Hooks (2CD Edition) NAO - Fog Electric NAO - The Third Day SAND - SAND NAO - Glare EP

Select from options below to add to basket
    This bundle also includes:

    Grappling Hooks (2CD)

    Expanded version of the debut album

    Grappling Hooks, the debut album from North Atlantic Oscillation was released last year on Kscope. The album received massive critical acclaim, including being named as Zane Lowe's album of the week on his BBC Radio 1 show.

    Further radio support followed including sessions on 6 Music, BBC Scotland and BBC Introducing.

    The band are about to start work on their second album and this special 2 disc edition of Grappling Hooks collects a selection of remixes of tracks from the album along with tracks recorded for a BBC 6 Music session and the band's beautiful cover of the doo-wop classic I Only Have Eyes For You.

    Following successful UK tours (as headliners and also supporting Porcupine Tree, Anathema, Engineers and more), NAO are just about to embark on their first European tour, supporting Blackfield.

    'Super exciting new Rock n Roll for a new decade' Zane Lowe, BBC Radio One Album Of The Week

    'intriguing oddness from Scotland' * * * * Uncut

    'a near-criminal stockpile of beeps, buzzes and glitches generously sprayed over a spacious psychedelic rock canvas... Grappling Hooks is a captivating record' Clash

    'stunning' The Sunday Times

    'really good' 8/10 NME

    'varied, dense, dreamy ... NAO are a proposition so rife with unique talent it's actually quite upsetting.' * * * * Big Cheese

    'something a bit special' Classic Rock Prog

    Disc 1:

    1. Marrow
    2. Hollywood Has Ended
    3. Cell Count
    4. Some Blue Hive
    5. Audioplastic
    6. Ceiling Poem
    7. Alexanderplatz
    8. 77 Hours
    9. Star Chambers
    10. Drawing Maps From Memory
    11. Ritual

    Disc 2:

    1. Cell Count (Funkspiel Remix)
    2. 77 Hours (Engineers Remix)
    3. Cell Count (Nick Trepka Remix)
    4. Alexanderplatz (Worldengine Remix)
    5. I Only Have Eyes For You
    6. Drawing Maps From Memory (live session ) recorded for the BBC
    7. Hollywood Has Ended (live session) recorded for the BBC
    This bundle also includes:

    The Third Day (CD)

    The new album The Third Day, release October 6th 2014

    North Atlantic Oscillation The Third Day www.kscopemusic.com

    The Third Day 1 - Great Plains 2 - Elsewhere 3 - Do Something Useful 4 - August 5 - Wires 6 - A Nice Little Place 7 - Penrose 8 - Pines of Eden 9 - Dust 10 - When To Stop

    CLASH MAGAZINE / OCT '14 Prog is a dirty word. But then, shouldn't all rock music be progressive? Who in their right mind would willingly make something which didn't break new ground, which didn't attempt something different? Edinburgh trio North Atlantic Oscillation don't hide away from their prog roots. Yet this isn't to peg the band as some bunch of Yes devotees - rather, the three piece focus on what could be achieved with bass, drums, guitar and a hefty dose of electronics. New album 'The Third Day' is a startling return. Packed to the gunnels with fresh ideas, North Atlantic Oscillation maintain a molten, fluid sense of what it means to be a rock band. Designed explicitly as an album, each track on 'The Third Day' segues immaculately into the next, with the band aiming to produce something with absolutely no dead space. As a result, each daring new diversion piles onto one another, with the overall effect being quite shattering.

    This bundle also includes:

    SAND (2013) CD

    Debut solo album from NAO's Sam Healy


    Buy follow-up album A Sleeper, Just Awake at musicglue.com/sandtheband

    Sand is the debut solo release/project from NAO's Sam Healy.

    During the last few years North Atlantic Oscillation have been steadily building their fanbase and reputation. Well known fans such as Zane Lowe and Guy Garvey have been drawn to the band's unique combination of sonic complexity and melodic intrigue.

    Sam Healy, NAO's frontman and songwriter, returns with Sand.

    Written, performed and recorded throughout 2012 and 2013, the album allowed Sam to work in a different way.

    He describes:

    "I wanted to try something that I could work on entirely alone, with no deadlines or schedules intruding on the process. It was an experiment to see if I could conceive and execute a whole record without any outside influence. I only told few people about it until it was almost complete. I had a sense after the release of Fog Electric that I should try something else before starting on a third NAO album, something with a different feel, a musical palate-cleanser."

    This change in process has resulted in an album which, while still sure to appeal to fans of Healy's previous work, has a more intimate and personal feel, both sonically and thematically.

    Melodic passages and conventional pop structures are framed by striking changes in dynamics, to create a dramatic sonic palette which ranges from the barely audible to the wildly loud and back again (often within the same track).

    1. Life Is Too Easy
    2. Clay
    3. Destroyer
    4. Meanwhile
    5. On A Spent Sea
    6. Astray
    7. Elegy For The Old Forty-foot
    8. A Pill To Keep The Plane From Crashing
    9. Don't Nod
    10. Red Queen Freezes
    This bundle also includes:

    Glare EP (CD)

    'Glare EP' featuring Steven Wilson's remix of 'Wires'

    Pre-Order - this will ship on Monday 16th March 2015

    Brand new EP from rock-electronica trio North Atlantic Oscillation – includes Steven Wilson remix of ‘Wires’

    North Atlantic Oscillation return in 2015 with their new EP ‘Glare’, following on from their 2014 album ‘The Third Day’. The EP includes the previously unreleased track ‘Glare’ from ‘The Third Day’ recording sessions, a very special Steven Wilson remix of ‘Wires’, a Leonard Cohen cover of ‘Sisters of Mercy’ and an alternative mix of ‘Penrose’. The band will commence on a mini tour of the UK in March, with dates in London & Manchester. Kscope will also be releasing a brand new digital only ‘Deluxe’ version of last year’s ‘The Third Day’ which will include the ‘Glare’ EP.

    1 - Glare 2 - Wires [Steven Wilson Remix] 3 - Sisters of Mercy (Leonard Cohen) 4 - Penrose (Alt mix)

    This bundle also includes:

    Fog Electric (1CD)

    The second studio album from North Atlantic Oscillation

    Fog Electric was recorded and produced by Tony Doogan (Super Furry Animals, Mogwai, Teenage Fanclub, Belle & Sebastian). The album was the follow-up to Grappling Hooks, the band’s debut which received massive critical acclaim when it was released in 2010.

    1. Soft Coda
    2. Chirality
    3. Mirador
    4. Empire Waste
    5. Savage With Barometer 6. Interval
    6. Expert With Altimeter 8. The Receiver
    7. Downhill
    8. (Theory of Tides)